Hans Ulrich Obrist
A Brief History of New Music
Documents Series
Edited by
Lionel Bovier
Hans Ulrich Obrist

Robert Ashley
Elliott Carter
Brian Eno
Hans Ulrich Obrist
Yoko Ono
Steve Reich
Terry Riley
Karlheinz Stockhausen
Iannis Xenakis

December 2015
ISBN: 978-3-03764-190-3
Softcover, 150 x 210 mm
302 pages
Print pdf

CHF 27.5 / EUR 20 / £ 15 / US 29.95

Buy from Europe

Buy from Switzerland

Buy from the UK

An anthology on new musical forms in the 20th century

Following the success of "A Brief History of Curating" (now available in nine different languages, in its sixth reprint, and as an e-book), this publication gathers together interviews with pioneering musicians of the 1950s to the 1980s. The book thus brings together avant-garde composers such as Elliott Carter, Pierre Boulez, and Karlheinz Stockhausen; originators of electro-acoustic music such as François Bayle, Pauline Oliveros, Iannis Xenakis, Robert Ashley, and Peter Zinovieff; Minimalist and Fluxus-inspired artists such as Tony Conrad, Phill Niblock, Yoko Ono, Steve Reich, and Terry Riley; as well as figures such as Brian Eno, Kraftwerk, Arto Lindsay, and Caetano Veloso. Their contributions map the evolution of the musical field, from early experiments in concrete and abstract music, to the electronic development and the hybridization between Pop and avant-garde culture.

Hans Ulrich Obrist (*May 1968) joined the Serpentine Gallery (London) as Co-Director of International Exhibitions and Programmes and Director of International Projects in 2006.

The book is part of the Documents series, co-published with Les presses du réel and dedicated to critical writings.

Second edition.
Of related interest
Of the same series